2020 General Election

The filing deadline of select non-partisan offices for the upcoming November 3 General Election has been changed due to recent legislation.
The deadline to file for the offices of County Hospital Trustee and Township Trustee will now occur on Wednesday, August 26 at 5:00 p.m. The deadline change does not alter the original filing deadline for County Ag Extension and Soil and Water Commissioner, which remains Wednesday, August 26 at 5:00 p.m.
For the non-partisan offices up for election on November 3, candidates must file an affidavit of candidacy and nomination petitions, or convention certificate, Township officials only file an affidavit of candidacy.
County Hospital Trustee
• Acquire 50 signatures from active registered voters in Palo Alto County
Soil and Water Commissioner
• Acquire 25 signatures from active registered voters in the conservation district
County Ag Extension
• Acquire 25 signatures from active registered voters in the district
For any questions regarding the August 26 filing deadline or candidate qualifications, please contact the Palo Alto County Auditor's Office at 712-852-2924. Hours of operation are 8 a.m. to 4 p.m., Monday through Friday.

Duties and/or Mission 

The County Auditor is responsible for a variety of functions and duties. The main functions

  • Commissioner of Elections (federal, state, county, city and school district)
  • Preparing and certifying tax levies
  • Maintaining financial records
  • Clerk to the Board of Supervisors
  • Keeping Real Estate Transfer Records
  • Maintains a drainage record for all drainage districts of the county
  • Payroll and Human Resources Manager


Notice of Public Hearing- Proposed Property Tax Levy

Notice of Public Hearing- Proposed Budget




Contact Information

Palo Alto Auditor’s Office
Palo Alto County Courthouse
1010 Broadway Street, PO Box 95
Emmetsburg, IA 50536

Phone 712-852-2924

8am-4pm, Monday-Friday
Closed weekends & holidays

Carmen Moser, Auditor

Therese Geelan, Deputy Auditor

Jordan Morey, Clerk

Amanda Hansen, Clerk